Online Causal Inference Seminar starts next Tues!

https://statmodeling.stat.columbia.edu/2020/03/25/online-causal-inference-seminar-starts-next-tues/

Dominik Rothenhäusler writes:

We are delighted to announce the creation of the Online Causal Inference Seminar (OCIS)! Our goal in creating this seminar series is to provide a platform for our community to continue interacting and growing in spite of the current health crisis. The causal tent is a big one, and we hope to engage with a broad variety of interests and topics within causal inference: from applications to theory, from Statistics to CS, both in academia and industry.

Seminars will be held on Zoom every Tuesday at 8:30 am PT (10:30 am CT / 11:30 am ET / 5:30 pm CET), starting next Tuesday, March 31st. Each session will feature a 45 minutes talk by an invited speaker, followed by a 15 minutes discussion led by an invited discussant. You can find additional information at http://causalinferenceseminar.com/ and sign up for the mailing list here.

Our first speaker will be Dylan Small from Wharton, on Tuesday, March 31st. The title of the talk is “Testing an Elaborate Theory of a Causal Hypothesis” (joint work with Bikram Karmakar).

The second speaker, on Tues 7 Apr, is Caroline Uhler from MIT.

Here’s the website for the seminar series. I hope you can make it! We’ve tried to get a mix of theoretical and applied speakers, coming from a range of backgrounds and with different perspectives. Each talk will have a formal discussant as well as a moderator who will facilitate general feedback from the audience.